• Image 01
  • Image 01
NDACTE provides leadership on issues related to professional education, with primary focus on teacher education and promotes effective public policy regarding professional education, enhances and improves professional education programs at member institutions, and enhances the professional effectiveness of members.

New ND Licensure Information


We are excited to share with you that HB 1098 was signed by Governor Burgum on April 13, 2017. This bill expands licensure areas for both elementary and secondary teachers. It also will allow teachers to once again teach in their minor areas.

Elementary teachers will now be licensed to teach grades 1-8 (formerly 1-6)

Secondary teachers will now be licensed to teach grades 5-12 (formerly 7-12) in their content area.

If you currently hold a ND teaching license, your license is updated to reflect this new configuration. We will not be printing new licenses for every teacher. However, we encourage you to check your license updates using the ND Educator Search.

With the passing of HB 1098, ESPB will interpret the law, although the rules are not official to indicate the following changes effective July 1:

Substitute Licenses:
The K-12 administrator letter requesting the sub license is no longer required. The sub license will be issued for a two year period at the cost of $80 (instead of 1 year for $40). All other sub requirements will remain the same.

Alternate Access Licenses:
The Alternate Access License will now be issued starting on July 1 of each year, rather than August 1.

Praxis Testing:
A teacher no longer needs to hold their teaching license for 2 years in order to test into a new content area. Also, an elementary teacher no longer needs the 7-12 PLT to move into a secondary content area. They only need the Praxis content test passed. A secondary teacher would need the K-6 PLT and elementary content test in order to move into elementary, or B-3 PLT and early childhood content test to teach early childhood education.

NDACTE Member Institutions

Dickinson State University                       Mayville State University

Minot State University                              North Dakota State University

Nueta Hidatsa Sahnish College                Sitting Bull College

Turtle Mt. Community College                 University of Jamestown

University of Mary                                   University of North Dakota

United Tribes Technical College              Valley City State University



North Dakota Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (NDACTE) is an affiliate of the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE). The views expressed on this website are the views of NDACTE.